Claim up to 75% off on ZeltoAuthoring now! Contact us immediately.
Claim Deal
Section 508 Compliance vs WCAG: Understanding Accessibility Guidelines


In today’s digital landscape, the accessibility of websites, applications, and digital content for individuals with disabilities holds significant importance. Designers and developers rely on established guidelines to ensure inclusivity in training content. Two prominent sets of guidelines, namely Section 508 and WCAG (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines), play a crucial role in this endeavor. While both guidelines share the goal of enhancing accessibility, they diverge in terms of scope, legal obligations, and technical criteria. This blog aims to explore the distinctions between Section 508 and WCAG, offering valuable insights into these accessibility standards.

Scope & Application

Section 508 Section 508 is a federal law in the United States that ensures accessibility for electronic and information technology (EIT) within the federal sector. It encompasses federal agencies, contractors, and organizations receiving federal funding. Section 508 mandates that EIT should be accessible to individuals with disabilities, including those with cognitive, visual, motor, neurological, and auditory impairments.
WCAG In contrast, WCAG is an international set of guidelines established by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C). Unlike Section 508, WCAG applies universally to all websites and web content, regardless of the sector or organization. Its purpose is to provide recommendations for making web content accessible to people with diverse disabilities.

Legal Requirements

Section 508 In the United States, it is legally mandatory for federal agencies, contractors, and organizations receiving federal funding to comply with Section 508. Failure to comply can lead to legal consequences and financial penalties. Covered entities must ensure that their electronic and information technology (EIT) meets the technical standards specified in Section 508.
WCAG While WCAG itself is not a legal requirement, it enjoys widespread recognition and serves as a prominent standard for web accessibility. In certain jurisdictions, adherence to WCAG may be obligatory by law or utilized as a reference in legal proceedings. Many countries and regions develop their own accessibility laws based on WCAG guidelines.

Technical Standards

Section 508 The web accessibility technical standards provided by Section 508 were last updated in 2017. These standards, which are based on WCAG 2.0, prioritize the perceivability, operability, understandability, and robustness (POUR) of electronic and information technology (EIT) for individuals with disabilities.
WCAG WCAG is a comprehensive and continuously evolving set of guidelines. The most recent version is WCAG 2.1, which incorporates additional criteria to address mobile accessibility, dynamically changing content, and other accessibility considerations. WCAG offers different levels of conformance: Level A, Level AA, and Level AAA, with Level AA being the most commonly referenced level.

Should your training content be compliant with these standards?

Section 508 Ensuring compliance with Section 508 is necessary for your training content if you fall under federal agencies contractors, or organizations receiving federal funding. Failure to meet Section 508 standards can lead to legal consequences and financial penalties.
WCAG While not a legal requirement, aligning your training content with WCAG guidelines is highly recommended to promote web accessibility. Adhering to WCAG principles enhances inclusivity, providing equal access to individuals with disabilities and improving the overall user experience.


While both Section 508 and WCAG aim to improve accessibility, they differ in their scope, legal requirements, and technical standards. Section 508 is specific to the United States federal sector, focusing on EIT accessibility and enforcing technical standards derived from WCAG 2.0. On the other hand, WCAG is an international standard that applies to all websites and web content, providing comprehensive guidelines for accessibility. Compliance with Section 508 is mandatory for covered entities, while adherence to WCAG is recognized as a best practice and may be required by law in some jurisdictions. Understanding the differences between Section 508 and WCAG is crucial for organizations and developers striving to create accessible digital experiences. By aligning with these guidelines, organizations can ensure equal access to information and services for people with disabilities, while also enhancing the overall user experience for all individuals. Ultimately, the goal is to foster inclusivity, enabling everyone to participate fully in the digital world.
Let’s get in touch to explore how we can help you create an 508 compliant course that is accessible to all learners.
Let’s Talk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow us on
Contact Us!

Let's create great learning experiences together.